You may have many questions if you’ve been involved in a car accident in Kansas City, MO. What are your legal obligations? Do you need to call 911? Should you seek medical attention even if you don’t think you’ve sustained any injuries?
Our Kansas City car accident lawyers have compiled a list of steps to take after a collision. However, if you have additional questions or need assistance, you can contact us and schedule a free consultation with a member of our dedicated legal team.
Table of Contents
How Can a Kansas City Car Accident Lawyer Help Me?
After a collision, you may find it challenging to communicate with insurance adjusters. They aren’t always responsive, and they frequently present lowball offers that fail to fully compensate you.
Bradley Law Personal Injury Lawyers is here to help. Our Kansas City car accident attorneys have over 30 years of legal experience to put behind your case. We’ve recovered more than $70 million for our clients throughout Missouri, and our primary objective is to get injured victims back on their feet.
Hiring our Kansas City personal injury law firm after a car wreck means you’ll have an advocate to:
- Investigate the crash to determine vital elements in your case, including causation
- Gather evidence and prove the full extent of your economic and non-economic damages
- Negotiate with insurance companies and fight for fair compensation
- Consult experts when necessary
- Represent you at trial if we cannot reach an out-of-court settlement agreement
Contact our law office to speak with an experienced car accident lawyer in Kansas City and learn more about our legal services.
What Should I Do After a Car Crash in Kansas City, MO?
The steps you take after a collision in Kansas City, Missouri can significantly impact many things, including your health, ability to recover compensation, and legal rights.
Here are some things you should (and shouldn’t) do:
Do Not Leave the Scene of the Accident
All Kansas City drivers must stop at the accident scene if they are involved in a collision. Failure to do so can result in criminal penalties, as the State of Missouri takes hit-and-run accidents seriously.
You should remain at the crash site until you’ve fulfilled all legal obligations, including helping injured people and giving your information to the other driver(s).
Call the Police
Under Missouri law, you must immediately report all collisions that involve the following to law enforcement:
- Property damage exceeding $500
This will likely cover most car accidents. However, even if you don’t think any of these apply to you, it’s wise to contact the police department. For one, even a minor fender bender may cause property damage above $500. Additionally, the other driver may refuse to exchange information, or they may change their story later to shift blame to you.
Having a police officer investigate the scene will provide an objective account of the crash. They’ll prepare a traffic crash report containing vital details of the accident.
You should also report the accident to the Driver License Bureau if it involved an uninsured driver.
You should exchange contact information with everyone, including other drivers, passengers, and eyewitnesses. Also, share insurance information, driver’s license numbers, vehicle identification numbers, and additional vital information with the other motorist involved.
Do Not Admit Fault
After a car accident, many people are shocked and may say things without thinking, such as, “I didn’t see you” or “I was in a hurry.” Even if you feel you contributed to the collision, never apologize or admit fault, and say as little as possible at the crash scene.
For one, you can’t be entirely sure of the collision’s cause until the accident scene is fully investigated. Additionally, more than one party can share responsibility for a car accident. So even if you’re partially to blame, another party may also be accountable.
The police, the other driver, or an insurance adjuster might reference your apology and use it against you later. Don’t fall into this trap.
Collect Valuable Evidence
It’s always better to gather evidence as soon as possible while it’s fresh.
If you’re able, take photos and videos of things like:
- The position of the vehicles
- Traffic conditions
- Skid marks
- Property damage
- The point of impact
- Debris, such as shattered glass and plastic
- The location of the crash
If you’re transported from the accident scene to a nearby hospital, don’t fret. An attorney can locate evidence for you, including surveillance footage and information from traffic cameras.
Seek Prompt Medical Care
If you don’t receive treatment from a paramedic or get transported after your collision, it’s vital to see your primary care physician or visit a local urgent care center. You should take this important step even if you don’t think you’re injured. Why?
High adrenaline and shock after a car accident may mask pain, or you may have underlying injuries that don’t immediately present symptoms.
Not only do you want to protect your health, but you want to establish a causal link between the collision and your injuries. Otherwise, the insurance company could argue 1) that your injuries weren’t caused by the accident; or 2) that you failed to mitigate your damages.
A medical record will be date-stamped and show that you sought medical treatment right after your accident.
Notify Your Insurance Company – But Be Careful
You should report the collision to your insurance company but say as little as possible. Don’t give a recorded statement. If they press for more information, contact an attorney for advice.
Do You Have Questions? Seek Help from an Experienced Car Accident Law Firm in Kansas City
If you were injured in a car accident in Kansas City, MO, contact Bradley Law Personal Injury Lawyers for guidance. We offer a free initial consultation at no risk to you.